4KCBWDay 2 – The Mascot Project

Today’s task was to think of a project that embodies my house. As you know, I pledged my allegiance to the “House of Bee” yesterday. I also mentioned about how hard I find it to make decisions, so bearing that in mind you will understand how today’s task was nigh impossible for me. For that reason I don’t really have a single project or even a select few – no, I have selected an entire category just for me!

You may think this is taking the easy option, but I think it sums up my bee-like characteristic perfectly.

“Busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest” 

So without any further ado … (drum roll please) … my mascot is socks! The great big, wonderfully warm and dreadfully exciting world of hand knitted socks awaits. If you had told me a year ago I would have been singing the praises of sock knitting I would have laughed (a lot and probably very loudly), but it is true I have been bitten by the bug, and bitten hard.

Why socks? They allow me to fulfill my constant desire for something new, exciting and different, they also happen to be super comfy and rather warm (perfect for Johannesburg winter).

If I am tired and just want the meditative enjoyment of going round and round I can knit some vanilla toe-ups, if I need that added bit of excitement to said toe-ups I can add some self striping yarn. Cue quick excursion to various yarn shops to oogle over the offerings. If I am feeling more adventurous I can add my own stripes or colourwork. I can knit in colours I would never dream of wearing or using anywhere else. I can challenge myself a little or a lot depending on my mood. Then to top it all off there are so many ways to knit your socks, top down, toe up, heel flaps, short rows … the list of construction variables in endless.

Ah the humble sock, it can take you on so many journeys…

Onto the enabling section, after all what would a blog post about socks be without some gorgeous patterns to tempt you.

1) Own vanilla sock recipe

2) Vanilla Socks by Carle Dehning design picture courtesy of Carle

3) Venetian Blinds by Ursa Major Knits design picture courtesy of Ursa

4) Yorkshire Yarns Mismatched Socks by Jasmine Wallace design picture courtesy of Jasmine

5) LoveSocks by Devon Clement design picture courtesy of Devon

6) Nightingale by Vintage Purls project picture courtesy of Sharon (pSTATqueen)

7) Zig Zag Spring Socks by Judy George my own picture

8) Pointelle by Cookie A. project picture courtesy of Bridget (WhattheHay)

9) German Stocking by Cookie A project picture courtesy of Sofie (Sofieee)

Don’t fancy following a pattern, how about trying out some new heels or toes? There are plenty of excellent tutorials online and more sock knitting books than anyone one knitter would ever need. Take your favourite vanilla sock and play around with the details.

Looking for somewhere to start? Lara Neel* (Math4knitters) has a great tutorial on Ravelry featuring three different sock heels.

Copyright: Lara Neel

Copyright: Lara Neel

Or you could treat yourself to the Cookie A book Sock Innovation which just happens to be on sale at the moment. I may have accidentally bought it myself this morning.

With all these options what isn’t there to love about socks?

On that note I am off to join sock knitters anonymous – I think its about time I accept that I have a sock addiction.

* Lara Neel is a knitting, designing, math diva podcaster who is determined to talk with each and every one of you on her show, Math4Knitters: Crafty Living. There is probably more than you ever wanted to know at http://www.journalgazette.net/craftyliving. She also has a personal website at laraneel.com.

With over 150 free patterns on Ravelry, she has recently started offering select, test-knit (or tech edited) patterns for sale. She is Math4Knitters.

6 thoughts on “4KCBWDay 2 – The Mascot Project

  1. Great post Clare. I am a sock addict too. Now I wish someone would post something about the best pair of shoes to wear with hand-knit socks. We need some clear, breathable, comfortable shoes just for showing off socks.

    • Thanks Cheryl. I would love some shoes to show off my socks. I have seen plastic Wellington boots and heard of converse made of see through plastic. I think both options would be a little warm though, I agree they need to be breathable.

  2. Socks certainly are a good choice for a bee. They’re small projects you can be “busy” with just about anywhere. Plus, there are almost never too many of them.

  3. *Cough* Did you see my Bumblebee socks? Fantastic post Clare, talk about enabling, though! If I wasn’t a sock knitter already, I would be by now. Great stuff!

    • I did, I tried to blank them from my mind though as I had already seduced myself with enough patterns for one day 😉
      They are pretty awesome though… now if only the little dictator would be more accommodating when it comes to knitting. I tried to knit my “concentrating socks” today while acting as a milk station. I suppose you could say there was a mixed level of success!

Leave a comment